I Association awards

Honoring our community

Each year, the I Association pays tribute to alumni who are making a difference. We do this during our reunions and events. And we bestow two awards that speak to the Indiana tradition of excellence and the spirit of Indiana.

Our awards and honors

  • Z.G. Clevenger Award

    The Z.G. Clevenger Award is presented to living I-Men who, as alumni, have made outstanding contributions to Indiana University through service to its athletics program.

  • Leanne Grotke Award

    The Leanne Grotke Award perpetuates the ideals Leanne Grotke Andreas embodied in her years serving Indiana University as a trailblazer and pioneer leader for women’s athletics. This honor is bestowed on living persons whose service has made exceptionally outstanding contributions to the IU women’s athletics program and is the highest honor of its kind given by the university.

  • Bill Orwig Award

    This Bill Orwig Award recognizes outstanding contributions made by a non-alumnus to the Indiana University athletics program. It is named for Bill Orwig, IU’s athletics director from 1961–75.

  • President’s Award

    The President’s Award is given each year to one male and one female letterwinner who participate in I Association activities.

  • Honorary Members

    The I Association finds support in many people, including those who did not participate in intercollegiate sports at Indiana University. Honorary membership is given to inspirational individuals who show commitment and dedication to IU, the I Association, and the IU Athletics program.

    Honorary members are chosen by the I Association’s Board of Directors. A candidate must be presented by a member of the board and be approved unanimously to receive honorary status.

  • Hall of Fame

    The Indiana University Hall of Fame recognizes and honors IU athletes—men and women—who have made exceptional contributions to IU’s achievements and prestige in the field of athletics, and who have continued to demonstrate in their lives the values imparted by intercollegiate athletics.

  • The Spotlight Project

    Sponsored by the IUAA and chosen four times a year, the Spotlight Project features a male and female letterwinner from IU Athletics.