Board of Managers

Meet the Board of Managers

Deanna Crispen

Chair, 2019-2020

Logansport, Ind.

Deanna is president of the Cass County Community Foundation where she has worked since 2005. She served on the IU Kokomo Alumni Association board from 2000–2009, leading the group as president in 20062008. She earned the IU Kokomo Outstanding Service Award in 2010, and the IUAA President’s Award in 2004.

Vi Simpson

Chair-elect, 2019-2020

LLB’94, LHD’13
Bloomington, Ind.

Vi is a retired attorney and state senator. She served on numerous committees in the Senate, including Appropriations and Health and Provider Services committees. She was chair of the joint Budget Committee and was elected as minority leader, the first woman to serve in both those positions. She was nominated in 2012 as the Democratic candidate for lieutenant governor.

Larry Alt

Vice Chair, 2019-2020

BS’68, MBA’78
Valparaiso, Ind.

Larry is the owner of Larry Alt & Associates, a marketing firm in Northwest Indiana. As an entrepreneur, he has started five new companies and holds three U.S. patents. He is past president of the IUAA Lakeshore Chapter and has served on the IUAA Executive Council’s Finance Committee. In 2014, Larry received the IUAA President's Award.  

Larry Lentych

Treasurer, 2019-2020

South Bend, Ind.

Larry retired as senior vice president and chief financial officer at 1st Source Bank in South Bend. He has been president of the IU South Bend Alumni Board and vice chairman of that campus’s Chancellor’s Advisory Board. His honors include the IUAA President’s Award in 2002 and the IU South Bend Distinguished Alumni Award in 2005.

Jeannie Sager

Secretary, 2019-2020

Carmel, Ind.

Jeannie serves as director of the Women’s Philanthropy Institute at the IUPUI Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. A development professional for 20 years, she previously worked as director of philanthropy at the IU Health Foundation, the IU School of Medicine as director for the Dean’s Council and Special Programs, and IU Foundation. She is a long-time member of the Alumni Council of IUPUI and received the Maynard K. Hine Medal in 2017.

Blaire Viehweg

Student Representative, 2019-2020

Indianapolis, Ind.

Blaire is a senior at IUPUI majoring in criminal justice and minoring in Spanish.  She anticipates completing her bachelor's degree in May 2020 followed by finishing the accelerated master's program in criminal justice and public safety in May 2021. She has worked at the IUPUI Office of Alumni Relations, in residence halls, and is a member of the IUPUI Regatta Steering Committee. Blaire plans to work in the field of corrections upon graduation. 

Robert N. Johnson

Immediate Past Chair, 2019-2020

Dublin, Calif.

After graduating from IU, Robert worked for Procter & Gamble and later was recruited by Kraft Foods, where he retired as a customer vice president. His time at Kraft Foods encompassed 25 years, 14 positions, and approximately 20 years in leadership roles.  He is a former member of the College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Board and is currently on the Dean’s Advisory Council for the School of Global and International Studies.

Lori Pearson-Perry

Manager at Large, 2019-2020

Indianapolis, Ind.

Lori works at IU Health as the engagement manager in the Department of Community Outreach and Engagement.  Previously, she worked as account executive with Holland-Parlette Associates.  She is former IUAA director of special events, has served on the IUAA Executive Council, and is an active member of the IUAA Central Indiana Chapter. She has served on the Central Indiana Chapter Board since 2005 and was honored with the IUAA Volunteer Leadership Award in 2019.

Phyllis Lewis

Manager at Large, 2017–2020

BSN’59, MSN’80
Indianapolis, Ind.

Phyllis served as coordinator of health programs for the Indiana Department of Education. She has also served on the IUAA Executive Council, representing the School of Nursing. She is a current board member on the School of Nursing Alumni Association and is past president of that community.  Phyllis received the Maynard K. Hine Medal, recognizing significant contributions to IUPUI, in 2006, the Sagamore of the Wabash in 2016, and was honored with the IUAA President's Award in 2019.

Shontrai Irving

Manager at Large, 2018–2021

BA'97, MA/JD'03
Gary, Ind.

Shontrai is a clinical professor of business law at Purdue University Northwest.  He is past president of the national board of the Neal-Marshall Alumni Club and in 2010, he was awarded the Charlie Nelms Alumni Award and the Hudson Holland Scholars Program Service Award for outstanding service to Indiana University.

Josh Kornberg

Manager at Large, 2018–2021

Jeffersonville, Ind.

Josh serves as Executive Director of Development for Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana – Sellersburg.  Starting in 2013 he served on the IU Southeast Alumni Board. He was president of the Student Alumni Association at IU Southeast and a member of the IUAA Executive Council. 

Martin Vargas

Manager at Large, 2019-2022

Knoxville, Tenn.

Martin served as senior international business analyst at Walmart Stores, Inc., then became an entrepreneur in 2004 in the field of health care innovation, strategic planning, and technology. He was board member and president of the Latino Alumni Association and earned the President’s Award in 2016.  

Dawn Whitehead

Manager at Large, 2019-2022

BA’97, MS’03, PhD’07
Washington, D.C.

Dawn is the vice president of the Office of Global Citizenship for Campus, Community, and Careers at the Association of American Colleges and Universities. An active participant in the Washington, D.C. IUAA programs, Dawn has served on the Neal Marshall Alumni Club Board since 2011 and has been a member of the IUAA Executive Council. 

J Thomas Forbes

Chief Executive Officer

BA’90, MPA’96
Bloomington, Ind.

J T. was appointed CEO of the IU Alumni Association in 2010. An experienced higher education leader, he has served in communications, marketing, public affairs, and government relations roles at IU and Michigan State University. A former president of the student body on the Bloomington campus, he founded the All University Student Assembly, and later served as a trustee of Indiana University.