Distinguished Asian Alumni Award

Past Distinguished Asian/Pacific American Alumni Award recipients

  • 2016: Lorna G. Schofield

    Prior to being one of four recipients of IU’s Distinguished Alumni Service Award, the university’s highest honor for alumni, Lorna Schofield, the nation’s first Filipino-American federal judge, began homecoming weekend by receiving the 2016 Distinguished Asian/Pacific American Alumni Award.

    Full story »

  • 2015: George C. Woo

    George C. Woo was born in Shanghai, China in 1941. He received an OD degree from the University of Waterloo in 1964. Shortly after, he traveled to Bloomington to perform graduate research in Vision Science, receiving an MS (1968) and PhD (1970) at the IU School of Optometry. Dr. Woo took up a faculty position at Waterloo where he advanced to Professor by 1980.

    Full story »

  • 2013: Sophia Grace Travis

    As president of the Asian Alumni Association, Sophia made tremendous strides toward enhancing several of their signature events, particularly the Distinguished Asian/Pacific American Alumni Award. She was a thoughtful planner and meticulously orchestrated our events by weaving her passions of art, music, politics, and social service into our programs.

  • 2012: Eugene Eoyang

    Eugene Eoyang, author and professor emeritus of comparative literature and East Asian languages and cultures at the Indiana University College of Arts and Sciences, received the Asian Pacific American Alumni Award in 2012. Eoyang also founded the East Asian Summer Language Institute at IU.

    Full story »

  • 2010: Sau-Ling Cynthia Wong

    Sau-Ling Cynthia Wong, BA’70, of Sunnyvale, California, is professor emeritus of ethnic studies at the University of California at Berkeley and a scholar on the Chinese Diaspora and Chinese-American literatures. Wong has become a pioneer in Asian American studies since graduating summa cum laude from IU in 1970.

    Full story »

  • 2009: Anurag D. Mendhekar

    Anurag D. Mendhekar, MS’94, PhD’98, has contributed to the field of computer science as an entrepreneur, founding three successful companies. Along with several scientific publications to his credit, Mendhekar has been awarded six patents, with several more pending. He was named the “2008 Pro to Know” by Supply & Demand Chain Executive magazine. His firm, Blue Vector, also was recognized by the Silicon Valley/San Jose Business Journal with its Emerging Technology Award.

    Full story »

  • 2008: G. Michael Witte

    G. Michael Witte, BA’79, JD’82, serves as judge for the Dearborn Superior Court No. 1 and was the first Asian American trial judge to be elected in the state of Indiana. An involved alumnus, Witte has served as the president of the Robert H. McKinney School of Law Alumni Association; has been president of the Dearborn County Chapter of the IUAA; and served as the coordinator of the Dearborn County IU Varsity Club.

    Full story »

  • 2007: Yoshito Kawahara

    Yoshito Kawahara, PhD’79, a third-generation Japanese American who overcame life in a World War II internment camp to become a successful scholar and a leader of the Asian American Psychological Association, was honored with the Distinguished Asian/Pacific American Alumni Award from Indiana University on Friday, April 27, 2007.

    Full story »

  • 2006: Belle Liang

    Belle Liang, BS’89, an education professor at Boston College and a national expert on youth mentoring, received the inaugural Distinguished Asian/Pacific American Alumni Award from IUAAA. As an undergraduate at IU Bloomington, she rode in the Little 500 and was a member of Alpha Delta Pi sorority.

    Full story »