IUAA honors top alumni volunteers

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. — The Indiana University Alumni Association values service, loyalty, and volunteer leadership. During Cream and Crimson Weekend, June 6–8, the IUAA will honor six alumni volunteers who exemplify these qualities.

The 2019 recipients of the President’s Award, the highest award the IUAA bestows on volunteer leaders, are:

  • Bernadette Brier-Slawinski, Ogden Dunes, Ind.
  • Bill Hyde, Naples, Fla.
  • Phyllis Lewis, Indianapolis
  • Janice Mucker, Indianapolis
  • Sandy Searcy, Bloomington, Ind.
  • Mike Shumate, San Diego

Bernadette Brier-Slawinski, BS’76, MS’81

Bernadette Brier-Slawinski has been an educator for more than 30 years, devoting her expertise to children with special needs in the northwest Indiana region. During the summers, she has supervised programs that have enabled hundreds of teachers to fulfill requirements for special education certification.

Brier-Slawinski has served on the IU Northwest alumni board since 2005, and currently serves as its treasurer. Throughout her tenure, she has led several committees—most recently as chair of IU Day events. Past participants in the Blood Donor Challenge with Purdue University will remember her contributions to that drive and other IU Northwest Student Alumni Association events. 

Bill Hyde, BS’69

A proud IU Kelley School of Business graduate, the late Bill Hyde pursued a successful career in the financial sector, most notably as a senior vice president for KPMG and The Macquarie Group.

He volunteered for IU for more than 30 years, mentoring numerous Kelley students and encouraging them to do the same for future students. As member of the Kelley Alumni Association Board of Directors from 2007 to 2011, he focused on bringing professional development and networking events to alumni in the New York City metro area. 

Retiring to Naples, Fla. in 2014, he remained an active IU volunteer, serving on the board and then as acting president of the Southwest Florida Chapter of the IUAA.

Hyde died on May 11. Prior to his death, representatives from the IU Alumni Association traveled to Naples to present him with the President’s Award. His family will be present at the award ceremony during Cream and Crimson.

Phyllis Lewis, BS’59, MS’80

Phyllis Lewis’s passion for IU and the nursing profession has been exceptional and unwavering. A dedicated servant for more than 50 years, Lewis devoted the first 34 years of her professional life to the Indiana Department of Education. She has served as a health consultant for the state’s special education service and as a coordinator of many state health programs, including Indiana’s services to those living with HIV/AIDS.

Among many other honors, she has been awarded the Maynard K. Hine Medal, the Indiana State Nurses Distinguished Service Award, and the Sagamore of the Wabash Award. Twice, she has served as president of the board of directors for the IU School of Nursing’s Alumni Association.

Janice Mucker, BSW’88, MSW’91

Janice Mucker is the epitome of a loyal and devoted volunteer. Since her graduation in 1991, she has given her time to the IU School of Social Work Alumni Association. Recognizing the great need to fund social work education, she helped to create a scholarship fund in 1999, raising money through events like IU Day.

Through the annual continuing education conference she helped inaugurate, Mucker forged strong bonds between the school and its alumni.

Sandy Searcy, BS’86, MS’88

Sandy Searcy is a trailblazer and ambassador for the IU Alumni Association. A former student-athlete—she has been a key volunteer linking the IUAA and the IU Department of Intercollegiate Athletics. She was a charter member of the I-Women’s Association, and was an early champion for merging the I-Men’s and I-Women’s associations, raising the profile of female student-athletes.

Searcy served as the first woman chair of the I Association, and her efforts were instrumental in establishing the Leanne Grotke Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the IU women’s athletics programs. Searcy received the award in 2011.

Mike Shumate, BS’67

Mike Shumate’s “life and career have been shaped by his ‘how can I help?’ attitude,” says IU Provost and Executive Vice President Lauren Robel. Shumate is well known for his service to the IU LGBTQ+ community, most notably for launching a groundbreaking scholarship for students. In addition to providing financial assistance for academic achievement, this scholarship also provides emergency funds to IU students who have been financially disowned by their parents after “coming out” to their families.

A broadly committed and involved alumni volunteer, Shumate is a founding member of the IU Women’s Philanthropy Leadership Council, and has served on the Kinsey Institute’s Board of Governors. Among his many honors, Shumate has received the IU Distinguished Alumni Service Award, the IU Keystone Award, and the Sagamore of the Wabash.

The IU Alumni Association is dedicated to serving the university and its diverse alumni, students, and friends. As one of the nation’s largest alumni organizations, serving more than 690,000 graduates worldwide, the IUAA provides many programs and services to its members, nonmember alumni, and the university.

For more information, visit alumni.iu.edu or call 800-824-3044.